V/A – Popcorn Diary Vol. 1 – Popcorn Rec.

Four artists supply four new productions for this first volume of contributors celebrating the labels eight year anniversary. And as you should expect it takes and then re-imagines history, reforming music into fresh shapes and sequences. Beginning with Point G’s excellent Love Yourself reworking its sample based groove with new and inspired electronics. D’Julz delivers the gritty edges of About Time next as intense low end accompanies uncomplicated, breathy voices and hits of organ. The acid infused The Scent of My Desire by Amir Alexander features unrelenting, rugged basslines over splashing hi-hats which are contrasted nicely by warmer electric piano, leaving Aubery’s pounding African Song to end this all round great release via rolling drums punctuated by an arresting array of stabs and notes.


Share this post: